Slowly the colour….

Often, we get our first frost on October 12th. But no sign of one yet. Gradually however, the garden is filling with colour again after the dull month of September.Some azaleas turn red; some orange. I don’t know why, but it makes for variety.  They cling onto their leaves well, unlike all the rowans (sorbus) I planted for autumn colour. We have not had strong wind, but they are all bare, apart from one s.vilmorinii which is in the shelter.Damera peltata, the umbrella plant is highly boring for most of the year, and is infested with ground elder too. But I’m loath to dig it up. Most of it goes brown and shrivels up in autumn, but the leaves that do turn are spectacular.The acer palmatum dissectum on the ruined mill is now turning rapidly gold. I’m surprised it has still got its leaves. If it can hang onto them for another week, it will be good.

8 thoughts on “Slowly the colour….

  1. I think it is all the shades of green in the backgrounds that make the reds so pretty in your images here. Especially the tall evergreen trees. We are nowhere near freezing temperatures yet either, and the leaves are only lightly falling, with wind and rain showers like in spring. A nicely lighted pumpkin really cheers things up though…

    • Catharine, I’m pretty certain it’s Darmera pelata – even though it has always been known as ‘that thing that looks like rhubarb’. If so, the web suggests it does turn in Autumn – though I have yet to find an image that is quite as red as mine…

  2. You were supposed to have snow by now, weren’t you?
    Anyway the pic of that darmera is my favourite too, I noticed you have some kind of grass behind the fern and THAT made me turn red!
    It seems winter is late this year, we still have to wait till the end of the month or so.

    • I fear it’s not an exotic grass, Alberto, just some common crocosmia. But fear not! I have taken note of your recommendations, and just maybe you will see some grasses next year…..

  3. The photos are beautiful — and I must admit I did feel a twinge of jealousy when I reached the photo of the mill’s ruins. I love the texture, how nature has taken it over, and the interest it provides. Breathtaking.

    • Thanks, Kevin. Yes, I’m lucky to have the mill, no doubt about it. But the not so good thing about ruins is that unwanted and potentially damaging tree and weed seedlings float into every crack – and it’s a constant job to try to stop them getting a firm foothold

Leave a Reply

